All You Need to Know About CAP Certification Evolution

With the onset of the fourth Industrial Revolution or the Core Technology Revolution, services like 5G network, IoT, AI, ML, and blockchain have boomed. But with the evolution in the technological era, cyber security is an increasing concern for IT giants. Hence cyber risk management is one issue that everyone is taking seriously. Certified Authorization Professional or CAP certification exam is one exam that recruits professionals built for cyber security.

Professionals trained under the CAP certification training program look into various technological elements’ security and risk factors. They manage risk tolerance and look after an organization’s mission regarding cyber security. They are highly trained to comply with all the regulations and legal requirements of cyber standards. CAP-certified personnel are recognized through global credentials for their training and are authorized to manage and maintain information systems for various organizations.

Evolution of CAP

The CAP certification examination was launched in 2005 as a security and credential-focused training program on the C&A (Certification and Authorization) process. The DIACAP (Department of Defense Information Assurance and Certification Accreditation Process) updated it for the first time to the Risk Management Framework. At that point, the C&A process was updated to the A&A (Assessment and Authorization) process. 

Again in 2021, the CAP certification examination was updated. This update was made to reflect the professionals are getting this certification. While this certification was created for government officials, it was also for private-sector workers after the update.

The content within CAP certification was updated in light of the security and risk issues in the professional sectors. Hence when someone gives the CAP certification examination, they emerge as certified analytics professionals. The cyber security personnel is updated with various organizations’ current technical conditions in risk management.

Accreditation CAP Certification Exam

Under the regulations of governmental laws, the CAP certification exam is accredited under the ANSI scheme for ISO/IEC standard 17024. Apart from the general accreditation, CAPs are also approved under the DoB 8570.01 scheme. Moreover, they are also listed under two categories: IAM Level 1 and IAM Level 2. 

Professional Requirements for CAP Certification Examination

To qualify for the CAP certification examination, candidates must have a cumulative work experience of two years in one or more of the domains mentioned above. These domains are listed directly under the CAP CBK (Common Body of Knowledge). Candidates that do not have the required experience can also become associates of various organizations after passing the CAP examination with the required marks. As an associate, the candidate would be given a total time of three years to gain professional two-year work experience.

Earning Potential

A survey in 2021 ranked CAP at number 27 for the highest-earning and lucrative job profiles. The survey also reported that CAPs drew an average annual salary of nearly $136,000.

Requirement for Continuous Education to Maintain the Certification

A CAP credentialed professional must continue their education to maintain the certification. Such a professional needs to participate in Continuing Professional Education (CPE). A professional needs to submit a minimum of 20 CPEs every year. By the end of the recertification cycle of 3 years, a professional must submit at least 60 CPE. The CAP certification cost goes at around $599 per exam. A minimal annual maintenance charge of $129 needs to be certified CAPs.

Wrapping Up

Having a globally accredited CAP certification can help you build a great career. This certification shows and displays your knowledge and ability to handle cyber risk situations and manage and assess such risks. This certification allows you to work at reputed organizations where you can deal with security issues and document the solutions based on various RMFs (Risk Management Frameworks).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.